Bryn Mawr Club of New York City Annual Meeting with Special Guest Emma Wippermann ’12, winner of the 2023 Whiting Award, hosted on Zoom (Thursday, May 11th at 7:30 PM)

Please join the Bryn Mawr Club of New York City for its 2023 Annual Meeting, on Thursday, May 11th, from 7:30 PM, via Zoom. The few minutes of business to be conducted consists of a report on the Club’s activities by the President of the Club, the Treasurer’s Report, the passage of a resolution, and the election of Club Officers and Board Members.

The Annual Meeting will be followed by a poetry reading from special guest, Emma Wippermann ’12, the recipient of the 2023 Whiting Award for poetry and drama. Emma is the author of the forthcoming Joan of Arkansas (Ugly Duckling Presse), a queer drama about climate catastrophe and political divinity. Her previous works also consist of Pleasure as a Series of Objects (Patient Sounds, 2019), jubilatOmniverseSecond FactoryNoDearOversoundTemporary Art Review, and Organism for Poetic Research. Currently, Emma lives in Brooklyn, has an MFA from Brown University, and is working on her first novel.

Resolution: WHEREAS, The Board of the Bryn Mawr Club of New York City seeks to update its bylaws, now be it resolved that: A new position of Assistant Treasurer will be added to the Board, to serve for a term of 2 years. The Assistant Treasurer will support the Treasurer by taking on various responsibilities requested by the Treasurer.

The officers and members in bold are nominated for the following positions:

President Helen Thurston ’74
Vice President Friya Bankwalla ’16
Mina Bansal ’17
Secretary Rebecca Hahn ’07
Treasurer Laura Gellert ’93
Assistant Treasurer Alisha Park ’13
Communications Chair Friya Bankwalla ’16
Events Reps Mina Bansal ’17
Young Alumnae Coordinator Jill Li ’18
Webmistress Maya Amis ’79/’87
50s Membership Rep Evelyn Barish ’56
60s Membership Rep To be filled
70s Membership Rep Lucille Blair ’76
80s Membership Rep Sabrina Seidner ’85
90s Membership Rep Trilby V John ’98
00s Membership Rep Leila Ghaznavi ’01
10s Members Rep Maisha Rahman ’13
Members-At-Large Jane Engelhardt ‘84
Laura Silvius ’05

Support the Club with your Annual Membership DUES HERE. Dues help support lively programming to connect and celebrate Bryn Mawr alums. If you are not able to attend by Zoom but want the Annual Meeting proxy voting form, click HERE.

WHAT: The Annual Meeting of the Bryn Mawr Club of New York City with Special Guest Emma Wippermann ’12, winner of the 2023 Whiting Award, hosted on Zoom

WHEN: Thursday, May 11th from 7:30 PM

WHERE: RSVP HERE. A Zoom Link will be provided upon registration and closer to the date.

HOW MUCH: While the Annual Meeting is free, we encourage you to renew your membership at this time. Tickets for the program and for membership are greatly appreciated and support programing for alums.